find hunter course

Find a Hunter Education Course

Department of Fish & Wildlife (CDFW)

In an effort to raise safety and conservation awareness, California’s first hunter education law was enacted in 1954. California requires hunter education training for those who have never held a California hunting license, who do not have a hunter education certificate, or who do not have a hunting license from another state or province issued within the past two years. Students may choose between two class format options. Classes are offered throughout the State by more than 1,000 certified volunteer instructors, all dedicated to keeping hunting safe, ethical, and available to all Californians.

General Information: 916-653-1235

Related Services: Get a Fishing License

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes and no. Online classes are offered in California, but to obtain a valid hunter education certificate, you will ALSO need to attend a 4-hour home study / online follow-up class with a certified hunter education instructor. The online course will not get you a certificate. The benefit of taking an online class is having the ability to study at your own pace, and that you only have to take a 4-hour follow-up classroom session (versus a 10+ hour class). See more about Online Classes.
There is not a minimum age requirement to take the course, but young children may find the course demanding. A Hunter Education Instructor may be able help you decide whether your child is old enough.
In most states, hunters cannot hunt legally unless they have had some type of formal education in the proper handling of firearms. Today, California requires hunter education training for all persons who have not formerly held a California hunting license; who do not have a hunter education certificate of completion; or who do not have a current, valid, hunting license from another state or province.

Related Links

Result thumbnail image California Hunter Education

California hunter education and safety program. ... Classes are offered throughout the State by more than 1,000 certified ... How do I get a duplicate certificate? https://www.wildlife.ca.gov/hunter-education

Hunter Education Requirements

Hunter Education must be added by a License Agent, CDFW Sales Office, or by submitting the following ... of successful completion of a California-approved hunter education course from any state or province; Current ... Find a Regulation. https://www.wildlife.ca.gov/Licensing/Hunter-Education

Result thumbnail image Home Study/On-line Hunter Education Course Instructor Manual

class, you may find it best to charge a registration fee when students initially sign ... course. Please study the Student Hunter Education Manual and other study. https://nrm.dfg.ca.gov/FileHandler.ashx?DocumentID=105034

CA.Gov : Fish & Wildlife, Department of

Find traffic information, Amber Alerts, and more! ... Locate financial aid to California students pursuing higher education. ... Find a Hunter Education Course ... http://www.ca.gov/Agencies/Fish-Wildlife-Department-of

Result thumbnail image Get CDFW GO ID

CDFW requires Online Registration for Hunter Education Classes. ... If you have never purchased a license from CDFW, you will need to get a GO ID here: link ... https://www.wildlife.ca.gov/Hunter-Education/GetGOID

Result thumbnail image News, Forms and Supplies for Hunter Education Instructors

Missed the 2016 Hunter Education Instructor conference and satellites for your district? ... As of January 1, 2016, all California Hunter Education Classes will be created, registered for, and recorded in the .... How do I get a duplicate certificate ? https://www.wildlife.ca.gov/Hunter-Education/Instructor-Resources

Result thumbnail image Hunting Licenses and Tags

Junior Hunting License, $12.45, Required for any resident or nonresident less than .... to any resident showing proof of completion of hunter education training. https://www.wildlife.ca.gov/licensing/hunting

Frequently Asked Questions about Online License Sales

How can I get a duplicate if I lose my license that was purchased online? To obtain ... What documentation is accepted as proof of completing hunter education? https://www.wildlife.ca.gov/Licensing/Online-Sales/Frequently-Asked-Questions